Home > What they didn't teach you in college... > 4 ways to get a job without even trying

4 ways to get a job without even trying

This is how my cat found a job.


    Do you ever wonder why some people seem to find a job without even trying?!  Meanwhile you’ve sent out close to 1,000 résumés and all you have to show for it is one interview for a Multi-Level Marketing job?  Well, that’s all about to change.  Now, I’m not saying give up your job search, sit back and watch American Idol, and a job will just fall in your lap.  But there are some things that you can do in addition to your job search, that are very productive and a lot more fun.


  • Volunteer. It’s fun, rewarding and no matter how much you slack off you can never get fired.  Check out Idealist.org…most of the time you can find volunteer opportunities that will actually give you experience in your field.  There are positions for Marketing, Web Design, even Tax Preparation.  Most of the time you will be working alongside others that are in your field and actively employed…instant networking!!


  • Paint Your Résumé on Your Car.  Here’s an article about a Loyola student who got job interviews just by driving around.  I have to to thank my sister Kelly in Maryland for telling me about this.  You don’t necessarily have to defile your car…the morale of the story is be creative.


  • Interview the Interviewer.  Sick of going on job interviews?  Then conduct some of your own.  Find some people in your field (or other fields you’re interested in) to interview.  An easy way to find and get in touch with them is through LinkedIn.  If you do not know how to do this, please take a second right now and watch this video showing how to network on LinkedIn.  The people that you interview will often be in a position to hire you or connect you to someone that can…either at their company or another.  Everyone loves giving interviews…it makes them feel important…especially when you tell them it’s for a report or for your blog.  What??  You don’t have a blog??


  • Start a Blog.  Make sure that your blog is relevant to your field.  Promote your blog on all social media outlets.  Once you get 1 million followers you can make enough money off your blog that you won’t have to work.  Okay, this may be a long-shot…but blogging will keep your creative juices flowing and will also give you material for a portfolio.  If you don’t have a portfolio than you really need to read my last post: 4 job-hunting tips that you HAVEN’T heard.


    • Do you have a good story about how you got a job without even trying?  Or any other tips?  Please share below if you do.


      Share



  • Kris Alban

    iGrad – Resources for life after college



  1. March 24, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I am exactly in the situation you described.I send out my resume and never get responses except from straight commission Insurance jobs,which is what I’m doing now and recently read in the Wall Street Journal that 90% of 2nd year insurance agents make under 15k.Great. Now I don’t have a degree and that I assume hurts me to some extent,but I never have had one and it never hurt me before.I do have alot of experience and an insurance license.Unfortunately employers are more picky nowadays because so many people are out of work.You know me,it’s definitely not because I’m shy,however,how can you convey that when you don’t even get an interview or a cb? Linked In probably won’t work for me because unfortunately,my reputation precedes me.

  2. March 26, 2010 at 7:23 am

    Mike,

    It can definitely get frustrating. Stay optimistic though!

    Employers and recruiters seem to be moving away from traditional job boards as a hiring source. I’m sure that you’ve tried the job boards on LinkedIn, but make sure that you also check out TweetMyJobs. Also, I sent you details of an insurance company that is hiring in your area – let me know if you want me to connect you with the recruiter.

  3. May 29, 2012 at 6:10 am

    Great article! Thanks for sharing I’ve been reading a lot of blogs and articles about job searching and this is the most informative, also I find career confidential helpful if you’re looking for a great job.

  1. March 18, 2010 at 12:02 pm
  2. March 24, 2010 at 11:58 am
  3. March 31, 2010 at 8:43 am
  4. April 18, 2010 at 2:20 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

